Nursery Curriculum


All schools and Ofsted registered Early Years providers must follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Statutory Framework, this sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe.It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

At Manor Hill Nursery children will learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking both indoors and outside.
There are seven areas of learning within the Early Years foundation stage curriculum. All areas of learning and development are important and interconnected.

Our provision for two year olds in our Bright Beginners Room will offer valuable experiences and learning opportunities focusing on the three prime areas of learning and development:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

Our provision for three and four year olds in the Early Explorers room will continue to embrace the prime areas of learning as these support and scaffold the four specific areas of learning:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the world
  • Expressive arts and design

These skills, experiences and learning opportunities will be presented to the children through meaningful play contexts and adult led activities to ensure that each child has the opportunity to play and explore in an active and engaging environment that allows them to be creative, think critically and challenge themselves to achieve more.